- Overwriting the dtproj file when the ‘Save File As’ dialog box was displayed.
- Checking the dtproj file back in SourceSafe.
- Closing the solution, without saving the changes to the project, re-opening the solution, re-adding the new DTSX file and saving the project file changes.
- Getting an earlier version of the dtproj file from SourceSafe and re-insterting the existing items to the project and saving the project file changes.
All of the above attempts proved to be in vain as I was just presented with the same message box. After checking my dtproj file differences within SourceSafe it occurred to me that I should edit the dtproj file within Notepad and see if that resolved the problem. I added a couple of new entries into the dtproj file for the new items that were included in my SSIS project and saved the changes. When I clicked back to my open project, Visual Studio recognised that changes had been made to the dtproj file and asked me if I wished to reload the file? I clicked ‘Yes’, the project file reloaded successfully and have been able to continue working with my SSIS project without further error messages.